Hawaii Counties - Cities, Towns, Neighborhoods, Maps & Data


Hawaii has five counties.  Kalawao County, a former leper colony and now a national historic landmark, does not function as a governmental unit and is administered by the State Department of Health.  Honolulu County and city are governmentally consolidated, but through agreement with the State of Hawaii, the Census Bureau does not recognize the city for statistical purposes.

There are 44 county subdivisions in Hawaii. They are all census county divisions (CCDs), which are delineated for statistical purposes, have no legal function, and are not governmental units.

Hawaii Counties - Populated Places in 5 Counties

Also see County: Census Data | Physical, Cultural & Historical Features | ZIP Codes | Land, Farms, & Ranches


Hawaii Counties Synopsis

The Hawaii Counties section of the gazetteer lists the cities, towns, neighborhoods and subdivisions for each of the 5 Hawaii Counties.

Also see Hawaii County: ZIP Codes | Physical, Cultural & Historical Features | Census Data | Land, Farms, & Ranches

Nearby physical features such as streams, islands and lakes are listed along with maps and driving directions. The same is true for both historical features and cultural features such as hospitals, parks, schools and airports.

Each profile includes the current weather plus a seven day forecast. Note that for smaller populated places, the weather report may be for the nearest weather reporting station or airport.

The local information and data include economic and demographic data, census information and facts about the local environmental situation including such items as maps of flood zones, local sources of pollution, air quality indices and local areas where hazardous materials may be used or stored.

The complete category list for larger cities and towns includes: Arts & Culture, Census Data, Community Organizations, State and Local Government, Health & Medical, Newcomer Information, Local News Papers & Radio, Parks & Recreation, Pets & Hobbies, Schools & Libraries, Social Services, Travel and Tourism.